A Writing Portfolio of attempted wit
 
I chose to satirize our country’s priorities when it comes to the news because, I feel there are many social, economical, and political problems that our world should change and pay attention to, but we seem to be obsessed with trivial matters. Many people are more concerned about celebrities and gossip then they are with making a difference in the world. I attempted to show how wrapped up our generation is with things that won’t have a huge impact on us later in life. We need to be focusing on larger issues than celebrities and their personal lives.

My satirical argument is that the girl in my video is overwhelmed by pop culture news and underwhelmed by things like endangered species- showing how petty we can seem.  I made this for the  teen population because, it has many references that we would understand and depicts situations (in a humorous light) that we can relate to. I chose to do this in a video because I wanted to show the stark contrast between reality and the problems we create.

I use satire by having a girl obsess over what she seems to think is tragic- a unsuccessful award show, celebrities cutting their hair, etc and show how there are so many worse things that she is ignoring. Her speech is exaggerated and filled with things like “lol” so as to emphasize how petty the world she has created is.

For my literary devices I used irony.

At the beginning some might assume that both the news reporter and the girl on the phone were talking about the same bomb- they did use almost identical wording afterall. As it turns out, one was talking about the Oscars and the other spoke of an actual bombing.

One of the most prominent devices was the hyperbole. In most of the girl’s sentences she exaggerated the importance of her worries. She said that Justin Bieber getting his hair cut was “the worst thing ever.”

I used a certain amount of Juxtaposition with the two different characters. One- the girl on the phone- had on fangirl clothing and was very made up, whilst the more rational reporter was dressed professionally.

When there was confusion between the words “beaver” and “Bieber” there was a pun. 


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.